EDUO 9997: Empowering Education

  • $799
  • 6 Semester Credits/Units

EDUO 9997: Empowering Education

Course Overview

For decades education has been hyper focused on students mastering the academic standards, leaving little time to guide them in becoming socially responsible and productive citizens. Given the state of today’s society, it is more important than ever that we help build our student’s confidence so that they can adapt to new information and feel empowered to advocate for what they believe in. Collaborate with colleagues while learning how to create empowering educational environments that set-up self-directed learning and promote positive interdependence. Through powerful readings, dynamic discussions, and hands-on projects, educators will walk away from this workshop feeling empowered and ready share this experience with their students.

Course Objectives

In this course, participants will have the opportunity to:

  • Learn what it takes to build both teacher and student agency.
  • Investigate how to help students become self-directed and self-reflective learners.
  • Create an empowering grading system.
  • Participate in lessons, activities, and projects that are designed to demonstrate how to help students learn the self-advocacy and collaboration skills needed for positive civil engagement.
  • Demonstrate the ability to create curriculum and physical learning environments that promote an empowering education.

Listen to what the Summer 2020 participants had to say:

“I made lasting relationships in this course. I connected with teachers from all different places and some near me. I enjoyed the experience of being a student in a digital class. It gave me a deeper understanding of what my students are experiencing and now I can make it a richer experience for them.” – Molly Beglin 4th grade at Sonoma Unified School District

“I could talk nearly endlessly about the new resources I have been introduced to, but I feel that what I gained most from this course was my passion and excitement being reignited!” – Lindsay Choi Middle School Science teacher at Sunnyvale Unified School District

“I feel empowered and invigorated as a teacher to use these skills in my classroom and share them with my colleagues.”
“This course renewed my love of teaching students. This is a challenging time to be a teacher and this class provided me exactly what I needed: Humanity, Connection, and Supportive tools and techniques.” – Stephanie Swenson Theatre Teacher at Cherry Creek Schools

Developed by: Ryan Pickett rpickett@dominicancaonline.com

2022 Spring sessions now open for registration. Please Note: This workshop will be divided into synchronous and asynchronous time. In addition to the weekly online synchronous time listed, you must be available to complete work and, if needed that week, briefly collaborate with colleagues and/or interact with your instructor prior to the next synchronous session. Your instructor will also be available 30 minutes prior and/or after each scheduled Zoom session to answer any questions or allow for further discussions. Finally, it is important to note that you have up to a week after your final synchronous session to complete any outstanding assignments and officially complete the workshop.

  • Instructor: Jana Palmquist
  • Dates: Feb.22-Apr.26 (Every Tue.)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 4:30pm - 6:30pm PST, 5:30pm - 7:30pm MST, 7:30pm - 9:30pm EST
  • Instructor: Kathy Smith
  • Dates: Feb.24-Apr.28 (Every Thu)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 3pm - 5pm PST, 4pm - 6:00pm MST, 6:00pm - 8:00pm EST