EDUO 9076: A New Era for Education ?

  • $799
  • 6 Semester Credits/Units

EDUO 9076: A New Era for Education ?

Course Overview

The COVID -19 pandemic has exposed and intensified the inequities in education while also shedding light on new learning pathways, bringing much needed attention to schools as social-service providers, and enlightening the world to the creativity and resiliency of educators. Collaborate with colleagues to learn how we can work differently to achieve our purpose. Through powerful readings, dynamic discussions, and hands-on projects, educators will walk away from this workshop ready to bring ingenuity, attentiveness, and empathy to all their students.

Course Objectives

In this course, participants will have the opportunity to: 

  • Discuss and reflect on the purpose of education and schools.
  • Investigate the effects the pandemic has had on education and it’s future.
  • Utilize the above information to improve teaching, learning, and equity in the classroom.
  • Participate in lessons, activities, and projects that illustrate how to bring ingenuity, attentiveness, and empathy to all students
  • Demonstrate the ability to create curriculum and learning environments that promote the true purpose of education.

Listen to what the Summer 2021 participants has to Say:

“I felt as if this was educational class that actually helped me grow as a teacher. A lot of the articles we read were honestly eye-opening. It didn’t feel as if the facilitator was the only instructor, because she wasn’t. I learned a lot from my peers and I felt as if I were writing notes not because I had to to, but because I wanted to remember specific ideas to use in my future classes.” – Alexander Porter, math instructor in Pleasanton Unified School District.

“I really enjoyed all of the activities we got to do while in class. The group work and collaboration was engaging as well as entertaining!” – Amanda Mendes 6th grade teacher in Turlock Unified School District

“ I would return for a different version of the workshop because the growth and inspiration I experienced was more valuable than the units.” – Janette Smith math teacher in Martinez Unified School District

“As an instructional coach I am constantly gathering new ideas and strategies to support teachers and students. This class provided an opportunity for me to learn from other teachers and add strategies to my toolbox. I look forward to using the content to support my instructional playbook.” – Lisa Fik instructional coach in Sunnyvale Unified School District

“This course gave me the confidence to to start the year with the right mindset. In the past I waited until a week before school to plan anything. Now I feel recharged and ready to go because of the course material and the awesome instructor.” – Joaquin Rivera 4th grade teacher in Clovis Unified School District

“If our goal is simply to go back to where we were before March 2020, we’ll miss the chance to forge opportunity and needed progress from this crisis. We must rethink how we’re engaging with students, families, and communities.”

– Miguel Cardona, U.S. Secretary of Education

Developed by: Ryan Pickett rpickett@dominicancaonline.com

2022 Six-Unit Workshop Dates & Synchronous Times: Please Note: This workshop will be divided into synchronous and asynchronous time. In addition to the synchronous online time, you must be available to complete work and, if needed, collaborate with colleagues and/or with your instructor prior to the next synchronous session. Your instructor will also be available prior and/or after each scheduled Zoom session to answer questions or allow for further discussions. It should also be noted that you have up to 2 days after your final synchronous session to complete any remaining assignments and officially complete the course.

  • Instructor: Kathleen Smith
  • Dates: June 6– July 1, (10 Synchronous meetings) Tuesday, June 7 – Thursday, June 9, Tuesday, June 14 – Thursday 16, Tuesday, June 21, - Thursday, June 23 & Wednesday, June29
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 9:30 AM-12 PM PST (10:30 AM –1 PM MST; 12:30 -3 PM EST)
  • Instructor: Alison Scranton and Cheryl Lane
  • Dates: Monday, June 13 – Saturday, June 18. Monday, June 20 - Thursday, June 23 (10 Synchronous meetings)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 9-11 AM PST (10-12 PM MST; 12-2 PM EST)
  • Location: Online
  • Instructor: Jana Palmquist
  • Dates: (10 Synchronous meetings) Monday June 13 - 24 (Monday-Friday only)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: Time: 1-3pm PST (2-4pm MST; 4-6pm EST)
  • Location: Online
  • Instructor: Emmanuel Valadez
  • Dates: July 11 – 29, (10 Synchronous meetings) Tuesday, July12 – Thursday, July 14, Saturday, July 16, Tuesday, July 19 – Thursday, July 21, Saturday, July 23 & Tuesday, July 26 – Wednesday, July 27
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 9:30 AM-12 PM PST (10:30 AM – 1 PM MST; 12:30 -3 PM EST)
  • Instructor: Carmen Wandel
  • Dates: July 11 - 29 (10 Synchronous meetings) Monday, Wednesday, & Friday, (July 11– 15), Monday, Wednesday, Friday, & Saturday (July 18-23), as well as Monday, Wednesday, & Friday (July 25 – 29).
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 1-3:30 PM PST (2-4:30 PM MST; 4-6:30 PM EST)
  • Instructor: Kathleen Smith
  • Dates: July 18 – 29 (Monday – Friday only)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 9-11 AM PST (10-12 MST; 12-2 PM EST)
  • Instructor: Evelyn Hickman
  • Dates: July 18 - July 29 (Monday – Friday only)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 1-3 PM PST (2-4 PM MST; 4-6 PM EST)
  • Instructor: Ryan Pickett
  • Dates: May 1 – August 31
  • Facility: Virtual