Compassionate Classrooms: A Guide to Building Safe Learning Communities

  • $799
  • 6 Graduate Level Units/Credits

EDUO 9944: Compassionate Classrooms – A Guide to Building Safe Learning Communities

Course Overview

A National Survey of Children’s Health has found that half the students in U.S. schools have experienced trauma and/or chronic stress. Given the strong connection between our emotions and learning, we know that the majority of these students are not ready to learn when they arrive at school.

In this workshop, educators will collaborate with colleagues while learning how to create environments that promote trusting relationships and social-emotional development. Teachers will experience what it’s like to be in a classroom where students feel welcome, safe, and ready to learn.

Through powerful readings, dynamic discussions, and hands-on projects, educators will walk away from this workshop invigorated and ready to build safe learning communities for their students.

Please Note: This course was originally offered as a two-week workshop in the Summer of 2020.  Given its popularity, there was demand to bring it back.  We have answered the call and are proud to offer the experience again in the Spring of 2021.  Educators across the country will have the choice of joining one of three cohorts.  There is a cohort with synchronous time on Tuesday evenings, one on Thursday evenings, and one on Saturdays.  Each section will meet once a week for two hour synchronous time with the class and instructor.  The rest of the week is open to complete readings and assignments when it is convenient.  Just choose the best synchronous times for you.

Listen to what the Summer 2020 participants had to say:

“I definitely received more than unites from this course, and I am better because of it. The instructors were awesome and our class became a family by the end.” – Alina Sturgis

“They build a compassionate classroom for us virtually! Its truly worked.” – Susan Altman

“I have taken this workshop three years in a row and learn something new each year. I love sharing with teachers in other grade levels and getting different perspectives. The articles are always timely and well planned. The assignments are manageable and provide opportunity to reflect, grow, and learn.” – Michelle Hutton

“I felt connected to the instructor and my classmates even though it was virtual.” – Stephanie Stevenson

“The material presented, the articles, and the projects all linked together to create a cohesive approach to social emotional learning for teachers as well as students.” – Kristen Giangregorio

“I would highly recommend this class to my friends and family. I would take it again too!” – Sarah Nov

Developed by: Ryan Pickett rpickett@dominicancaonline.com

All Cohorts Now Virtual

  • Instructor: Jana Palmquist
  • Dates: Every Tue. from Feb.23-Apr.27
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 4:30pm - 6:30pm PST, 5:30pm - 7:30pm MST, 7:30pm - 9:30pm EST
  • Instructor: Kathy Smith
  • Dates: Every Thu. from Feb.25-Apr.29
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 3pm - 5pm PST, 4pm - 6:00pm MST, 6:00pm - 8:00pm EST
  • Instructor: TBA
  • Dates: Every Thu. from Feb.25-May 8(No Class April 3)
  • Facility: Virtual
  • Time: 9:00am - 11:00am PST, 10:00am - 12:00pm MST, 12pm - 2pm EST